6 Places Where Sun Never Sets

6 Places Where Sun Never Sets

We are very much comfortable with the 12 hours of the day and 12 hour night but there are 6 places where the sun never sets and the day remains for 24 hours. The fact when the sun never sets is known as ‘The Midnight Sun’. At the poles, the North Pole and the South Pole, this represents that the sun only rises and sets once each year. This natural phenomenon takes place in the local summer months in the north of the Arctic and south of the Antarctic Circle.

Here’s the 6 Places Where Sun Never Sets:


Norway is called “Land of the Midnight Sun” where the sun remains up to 20 hours of daylight per day. It’s due to Norway’s high latitude the sun never set for about 76 days from late May to late July.

6 Places Where Sun Never Sets

2. Sweden

Sweden is also on the list of the 5 countries where the sun only sets around midnight and rises again at around four in the morning from early May until late August. Sweden is a country where you can experience constant sunshine for up to six months of a year.

3. Finland

Finland is a country that experiences no sunshine during winter while in some of the parts of this country the sun remains to shine for up to 73 hours during summer.

The midnight sun shines above the Arctic Circle, at this point sun briefly dunks beyond the horizon and then rises again.  There is a blurred boundary between day and night.

Finland sun sert


The sun in the country of Alaska doesn’t set from late May to late July. This country is also on the south of the Arctic Circle where the sun sets at around 12:30 am in the summer. This is because Fairbanks is 51 minutes ahead of its idealized time zone.

Alaska sun never serts

5. Iceland

Iceland is a country of beautiful landscapes including waterfalls, glaciers, geysers, and volcanoes. The sun never fully sets and travels horizontally across the horizon throughout the night.

Iceland doesn’t see the night from early May till July, while in the Arctic summer the sun sets at midnight and rises again at 3 in the morning.

6 Places Where Sun Never Sets

6. Canada

Canada is the second-largest country where the sun remains shining for about 50 days in summer, in places like Inuvik and the Northwest territories. Canada is a country that remains covered in snow around the year.

Canada sun

For more latest wonder stories stay in touch with daytimes.pk

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *